Black Sheep – Blitzen Christmas 4.0% ABV Ruby Ale

Black Sheep Blitzen

Black Sheep – Blitzen Christmas 4.0% ABV Ruby Ale

I went into this review nothing short of cautious, I have had a Black Sheep Beer in the past (see my Black Sheep Beer review here) and there isn’t many beers I have poured down the drain, unfortunately that was one of them. I am a firm believer in giving a brewery a few attempts before I dismiss them completely, it could have just been a bad batch or just not to my taste.

Pour/Nose

I poured the beer in a classic pint glass as it is a big 500ml bottle. It is advertised as a ruby ale, it is coloured ruby but very dark ruby. It settled into a foamy off white 2 finger head, it dropped to a thin head pretty quickly. It has a “real ale” smell to it, quite malty but it has some cinnamon, ginger and caramel. Not much hops on the smell but I didn’t expect much as its not true to the style

Taste

There is a lot of carbonation, it is pretty hard to get any taste from the rush in the carbonation. Middle of the mouth you get ginger, cinnamon and generic bitterness from the hops. The taste is very flat and dull. The bitterness goes on forever but not in a good way like a good IPA, more like a pint of bleach would. I was really hoping this would be a good beer.

Verdict

Again Black Sheep have disappointed me, I really wanted to find a gem but this was just as terrible as their first beer I reviewed. Watery, chemically, bland and boring. If you are going to buy this beer make sure it is your 5th or 6th pint in when you won’t care as much on how it tastes. Down the drain it goes

1 Hop

NEW BRANDING

 

FacebookTwitter

Reviewed by CD

Leave a Reply

